Best use of Guinness ever.

Guinness chocolate cupcakes with Bailey's cream cheese frosting

Guinness chocolate cupcakes with Bailey's cream cheese frosting

Aren’t they pretty?  Don’t they kind of look like a little clone army?  I pretty much used exactly the recipe posted a couple days ago, but since I only had 1/2 cup of sour cream, I substituted the other 1/4 cup as plain Greek yogurt.  For the icing, I cheated and used some Betty Crocker store-bought cream cheese frosting and mixed Bailey’s Irish Cream to my heart’s content and piped through a Ziploc bag.  Only after icing all these, I discovered a recipe for Irish Car Bomb cupcakes, in which the Guinness cupcakes are filled with Jameson whiskey chocolate ganache!  Oh, the regret.  But these are still awesome.

In other news, Tom bought two grills and will be returning one.  We tried out the electric grill yesterday with some gastronomically pleasing yet mediocre results (still learning all the grilling ropes, like trying not to kill people by undercooking meat and not overcooking luscious fish steaks).  Pasta is my mainstay, so I made an orzo mixed with parmesan and red-wine sauteed portobello mushrooms, sprinkled with a bit of Italian parsley.  Parsley makes everything look so much nicer.  I’m glad I don’t really notice the taste.

About ireneenroute

This is a blog full of photos taken by a cell phone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

