Turkey noodle soup I made last night.

On a whim, Tom bought a roast turkey breast from the Safeway deli.  He hardly goes grocery shopping but when he does, it’s nice because then he gets to pick out what he wants instead of living by my pasta-loving self all the time.  I don’t think he gets enough protein; I make too many carbs.  The turkey was a little dry and I personally don’t like turkey, so I decided to stick it in a stew.  I love soup and this was the easiest thing in the world to make.  I used a simple recipe online and added a bunch of leftover canned veggies I had lying around, which made it a little tastier.  Sadly, like many dishes I make, I was so eager to eat it, I didn’t take any pictures and now there’s just a little bit left.

2 T butter
3 carrots, cut up
3 celery stalks, trimmed and cut up
1/2 onion, roughly chopped
1 tsp. dried oregano
2 bay leaves
49.5 oz can chicken broth (approx. 5-6 cups)
1 can cannellini beans
1 can diced Italian style tomatoes
some corn, frozen or canned or whatever (I actually didn’t use because I forgot I have a can of corn lying around, but I should’ve!)
bunch of torn/shredded/chopped roasted turkey
1-2 cups dried elbow macaroni or other short noodle (depends on how thick/soupy you like it… I like lots of pasta, so I used 1 cup plus two small handfuls and it was more stew-like than a soup)

In large pot over med heat, melt butter. Saute carrots, celery, onions for about 5-7 min.  Add oregano, bay leaves, chicken broth; bring to a boil and simmer.  Now you can either add the dried pasta to cook in the broth or cook it in a separate pot.  I cooked 1 cup in a separate pot because I didn’t want the soup to get too starchy and thick (re: some of the wonton soups I’ve made in the past) and added a handful directly into the broth later.  Add canned veggies later because they don’t really need to cook.  Simmer that stuff until the carrots and celery are mushy the way I like it, or not if you don’t.

I know, this isn’t that exciting without photos.  Maybe next time.

About ireneenroute

This is a blog full of photos taken by a cell phone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

