Rack of lamb and Renaissance Pleasure Faire.

My rack, of lamb, that is, has been thoroughly rubbed (dirty!) with rosemary, oregano, thyme, garlic and pepper, and is now marinating in olive oil.  In just a few hours, I hope to transform its raw fleshiness into moist, tender dinner.  This rack is a little less than 1 pound so it’s smaller than most (story of my life), but I think with sides (broccoli & hollandaise maybe?), it should be suitable for two.

Here’s a weekend retrospective.  Following the Foundry, we had an evening at Red Lion Tavern in Silverlake to see some old friends of mine.  I had this slightly terrifying steak tartare:

It is just a huge pile of ground filet with onions, capers, and an egg.  I had to use some mustard from Tom’s plate and ask the waitress for a wedge of lemon, Worcestershire sauce, and salt and pepper and mix it into the meat.  It got loads better, but since it was such a huge portion, I only ate half and fed the other half to Fuji (he better like me now).

Sunday.  Renaissance Pleasure Faire!  I haven’t been to a Ren Faire since middle school, but since I like historic stuff and fiction, and since Tom likes turkey legs, it’s like a match made in heaven.

Masks.  CATapults.  There was jousting, too.

Fin weekend with amazing all you can eat Korean BBQ.

About ireneenroute

This is a blog full of photos taken by a cell phone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

