How to pack for three summer months in Europe.

First things first, I DON’T KNOW.  If this title misled you into thinking you’d find instructions on how to do just that, I’m sorry.  Rather, join me on a non-experienced traveler’s quest to discover the intricacies of the tiny corners of my newly purchased rolling suitcase from TJ Maxx.  By the way, the TJ Maxxes in Los Angeles, or at least in Santa Monica, are insane.  This particular one carries Dolce & Gabbana, Marc Jacobs, Catherine Malandrino, Vince, and more, which is great except for the fact that a “sale” price for discounted high-end labels is still $300.  Tom also bought a set of luggage to replace his old non-four-wheeling stuff and in anticipation of coming to visit later this summer!  So… we sort of have matching luggage.  (Mine is champagne gold; his is shiny black.)

Okay, here’s Packing Attempt #1 with which I’m not that satisfied (I’m particularly embarrassed about my shoe situation… never thought I’d be such a girl):

3 pairs jeans (one bootcut, one skinny casual, one skinny dark)
1 pair black slacks
1 pair long black leggings
1 pair black shorts
2 skirts (one black, one tan)
2 athletic pants (one doubles as lounge pants/nice slacks, the other is for climbing)
1 pair running shoes
1 pair walking/casual sneaker-type shoes
2 pairs boots (knee-high and Frye… necessary because apparently it rains on & off)
2 pairs heels (seriously struggled with this one)
2 pairs flats (one nice, one black glitter Toms)
1 pair flat sandals (NOT flip flops)
1 pair climbing shoes & harness (hmm…)
2 sweaters (one casual, one businessy)
2 cardigans
3 2 dresses (two one casual, one maybe nice, all cotton and compact)
14 tops (several layering tanks, T-shirts, and dressy tops)
1 jacket (one??  Maybe two…)
1 scarf (maybe two) 2 scarves
1 bikini
bunch of underwear and three pairs of socks
bath stuff (dry shampoo bar, remains of Frederic Fekkai shampoo & conditioner travel set, travel sized Lush body wash, moisturizer, toothpaste, contact lens stuff, etc.)
carry-on stuff (laptop and cell phone with chargers, books, umbrella, etc.)

So far, this all fits in a medium-sized rolling suitcase and I’m thinking about one carry-on duffel that I can also put my purse with laptop.  We’ll see what happens.  I’m debating bringing the climbing stuff at all so I won’t have to rent it at the gyms there.

About ireneenroute

This is a blog full of photos taken by a cell phone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to pack for three summer months in Europe.

  1. Janice says:

    have you thought about compression type bags? like this, http://www.rei.com/product/739705/eagle-creek-pack-it-compression-set and jason likes these but i don’t know what much they really compress things. i think it’s more so they don’t get wrinkled. http://www.rei.com/product/796368/eagle-creek-pack-it-folder-15
    when do you leave?

  2. ireneenroute says:

    I’ve seen those all over, but my goal was to buy as few things as possible, especially because I travel so infrequently. I rolled up everything. I’m leaving tomorrow afternoon!

Leave a Reply

