Why I love leftovers and other tales of improvisation.

I don’t like plain white rice, but I always end up with a bunch leftover from Asian restaurants.  What do I do with it?  Turn it into fried rice, of course.  The best fried rice is made from at least day-old rice (it’s gotten a chance to dry out a bit and fries better).  I didn’t feel like grocery shopping, so I had to use whatever was in the fridge, which was an onion, a tomato, some salad mix, the last egg, and some leftover mapo tofu (some of the spiciest I’ve ever had from Long Ting in Chinatown–practically burned my mouth off).  Sprinkled with fish sauce, sweet soy sauce, and chili oil.  Finished with curry ketchup.  It was amazing, especially the curry ketchup.  Where has that been all my life?

I went to the organic (“biologische”) farmer’s market on the Hofweg down the street from my apartment and bought a filet mignon because I was really missing beef.  The vendor must have secretly known me because as he handed me the steak, he said it was ready to eat just like that and I had beautiful visions of bright red steak tartare with bits of onion and capers.  I’m not that brave yet, so I just seared it rare and topped with onions deglazed in the pan with red wine.  The side of pasta was made from leftover noodles tossed with leftover white asparagus, garlic, arugula, creme fraiche, and parmesan.

I’m particularly proud of this one… I burned the blini because I still haven’t gotten the hang of the microwave/oven/convection oven combo, so I didn’t have any vehicle for my caviar.  Luckily, I found these prepackaged pannenkoeken in the fridge that happened to look like gigantic blini.  Problem solved.

About ireneenroute

This is a blog full of photos taken by a cell phone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

