My idea of touristy stuff is… to go to the library?

I don’t like to take touristy photos, but then that also means I can’t really show that I’m in the Netherlands and all my friends back home wonder what the hell I did all summer.  I’m pretty adamant on not having photos of canals or windmills, but then how am I going to remember that I was ever here?  Do I need a photo of myself standing in front of the Peace Palace?  Things to think about before I leave.

Binnenhof and Hofvijver.  It rained ALL DAY except for 10-minute intervals every couple hours.  The only benefit is that I’m getting really good at biking while holding an umbrella.  I was on my way to find a nice study spot when the sun finally came out.

So what does any normal person do when it’s raining?  Why, go visit the library, of course.  The Koninklijke Bibliotheek (Royal Library of the Netherlands) is down the street from my apartment along with the National Archives and the headquarters for the International Federation of Library Associations.  I got a reading room library card to add to my collection.

The library and the archives jointly have an exhibit in the building featuring some of the special collections.  With the ambient club lighting, the interior looks like it was designed by the same person who did Virgin America’s cabins, but to be honest, the dynamic movie wall and information consoles were pretty cool.

Recipe book for paper patterns

No one ever writes me nice stuff.

Here’s a random assortment of other touristy photos I’ve taken that I want to take off my phone.

Hugo Grotius. He is kind of a Big Deal and he gets a sweet statue in the main square of Delft.

Antwerp, one of the many lovely train stations in which one must pay to use the bathroom.

Belfry in Bruges. Yeah, I climbed that. From the inside, not the outside, which I would have preferred.

Escher in het Paleis. I was a little more fascinated with the crazy chandeliers.

About ireneenroute

This is a blog full of photos taken by a cell phone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

