Vegan macaroni and cheese (with tofu noodles)

This recipe is kind of awesome.
I think I have some kind of food allergy (not sure to what, but I’m pretty sure it’s not spinach, strawberries, bananas, almond milk, or yogurt, because I ate all those things this morning and I’m fine), so I stayed home from work today.  I took advantage of this opportunity to make vegan mac and cheese (although I cheated to use a bit of leftover heavy cream that I need to use up and reduced the oil) since by some stroke of weird grocery luck, I had almost every ingredient on hand except cashews.  The recipe is awesome!  It really makes a creamy, vaguely cheesily-saltyish sauce that works well on noodles or vegetables that benefit from cheesy-saltyish sauce…  I followed it almost exactly except I didn’t have onion powder so used one extra tsp of garlic powder and 2 tablespoons of miso instead of 1/4 cup since it was already getting pretty salty.  I also threw in a handful of shredded soy cheese from Trader Joe’s and put the sauce on shirataki tofu noodles, the macaroni style, which made a great lunch.

The recipe made about 6 cups (a lot!) of sauce and I loosely calculated 1 cup of sauce to equal 515 calories, 35 grams of fat, 32 grams of carbs, 16 grams of protein, and 690 mg of sodium (and no cholesterol).  One cup is kind of a lot, so I probably used 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup with an 8 oz. package of shirataki noodles.  I don’t really know how that compares to real macaroni and cheese, so the effect is kind of lost on me.

Ground up cashews.  Added nutritional yeast, garlic powder, and salt.  Blended.  Then added the mixture of almond milk, oil, and cornstarch.  Followed with 2 tablespoons of white miso paste and squeeze of lemon.

I have a big pot of fake cheese sauce now.  What should I do with it?

About ireneenroute

This is a blog full of photos taken by a cell phone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

