Rosół (Polish chicken soup)

When we were at Warszawa, Tom got chicken soup as an appetizer and he reminisced about the chicken soup his aunt used to make.  I’ve made typical chicken noodle soup a bunch of times before, but it usually involves cans of chicken broth, chunky vegetables, and big egg noodles.  I wanted to make it like the rosół we had, with a clear broth and little noodles, and after the turkey stock experiment from Thanksgiving, I figured it would be easy to make the soup from scratch, especially since it’s getting chilly in LA (yeah… 50F is chilly for me).

I took a bit of a shortcut by using a rotisserie chicken from the grocery instead of stewing a raw chicken.  The best rotisserie chicken I’ve had was from a Mexican grocery near our old apartment in San Jose… it was so popular that fresh chickens would sell out almost immediately, and I would have to check back two or three times later in the day.  For the soup, I used a 2 lb. rotisserie chicken, cleaned off most of the meat to reserve for later, and stuck the bones, tendons, and fattier bits in a Dutch oven.  I was impressed at how flavorful the broth was, because after all the meat was taken off, there wasn’t much chicken left.  A little goes a long way!

1 rotisserie chicken, meat removed and set aside
1 cup baby carrots
3 stalks of celery, chopped in large pieces
1 leek, chopped in large pieces
1 onion, cut in half
3 peppercorns, some allspice, dill (better fresh, but I couldn’t find any)
8 oz. angel hair pasta, broken in half or in smaller pieces

Put the chicken carcass in a large pot and cover with cold water.  Bring to a slow boil and turn down to simmer.  Add veggies and spices.  Simmer for at least an hour, occasionally skimming the surface.

After an hour or two (I waited until I was tired of waiting), strain the veggies and chicken bits.  I strained and pressed all the bits to get the juices out.  I reserved some carrots, diced them, then added back to the broth.  I cooked the pasta separately, put the pasta and some of the reserved chicken in bowls, and ladled the broth over it.  Oh yeah, and salt to taste whenever.

Yum.  I forgot to add parsley.  Oh well.  Some dumplings would’ve been awesome in this.  Or a side of roasted potatoes.  Things to think about for next time.

About ireneenroute

This is a blog full of photos taken by a cell phone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

