Plan Check – Southern comfort food Asian hinted gastropub something or other

Despite mixed reviews, I wanted to check out Plan Check (this name is kind of blah) because it’s near my place and I thought I could add it to the cadre of too-lazy-to-cook dinner staples in my neighborhood.  To sum up, it’s a good local joint, not really much of a destination or party location.  It’s low key, the dishes are on the smaller (yet more expensive) side, so it’s not really a full traditional sit-down dinner type place, and the service was a bit on the slow side. However, the drinks (also a bit expensive for regular consumption) were good and I thought the food was pretty fantastic.

Image

At $3.00 each, these are not your dollar-oyster deals.  I usually would not want to pay more than $2 per oyster, but I was in the mood.  These were really succulent, not a hint of fishiness, and finished with a really fresh hint over the tongue.

Image

Pastrami Nosh.  A bit overkill, but absolutely delicious, definitely not a health food as it’s loaded with fatty thick-cut pastrami, Swiss cheese, kimchi mustard, and an egg on top.  Yum.  These portions look small, but it’s a lot of flavor packed into each bite.

Image

Okay, yes, this is a terrible picture, but the smokey fried Jidori chicken was really good.  It would be neat if they did a couple renditions of fried chicken only because I’d really like a Korean fried chicken option to avoid having to go all the way to Kyochon.  This chicken was juicy, not as greasy as a lot of the Yelp reviews led me to believe, and was relatively easy to eat with few bones.

All that saltiness from the pastrami left me actually craving dessert, so we got the homemade cruller donuts that are basically like churros on a bed of cream with “fruit.”  The fruit in question was a couple of banana slices, and I thought the cream and salty-sweetness of the churros could have benefited more from the texture and acidity of berries rather than the bland gumminess of bananas (okay, I am not that big a fan of bananas; I actually don’t mind them, but nowhere in the fruit spectrum does banana fall under juicy and refreshing, unless I just swam a 100 relay and have charley horses).

So summary: the menu is small but unique with some spins on your classic burger/sandwich/bar finger foods that are probably a little pricier for the portion size (but don’t be fooled, they are really filling!) than you are expecting, but the food and drinks are extremely tasty.  Service was a tad slow, but friendly.  I would love this place as after-work dinner and drinks, although it will have to compete with Freddy Small’s, which is always a staple in my routine.

About ireneenroute

This is a blog full of photos taken by a cell phone.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

